South Suburban Genealogical
and Historical Society
Hazel Crest, Illinois

Serving south Cook and east Will counties, Illinois
    including Chicago's Roseland/Pullman neighborhoods

Established 1968

Calendar of Events

Membership meetings are on the second Saturday of each month at 10 a.m. unless otherwise noted.
Come to the center door of the building.  (Municipal Center / Police Department)
The May meeting is an annual birthday luncheon and begins at noon.  This meeting is held off premise.
There are no meetings in December or January.
Meetings are free to members, $3.00 for non-members.

Library hours:
Monday:                         10 a.m. -- 4 p.m.
Tuesday:                         1  p.m. -- 5 p.m.
Wednesday:                   10 a.m. -- 4 p.m.
Thursday:                       Closed
Friday:                            10 a.m. -- 4 p.m.
Saturdays (1st & 2nd):    11:30 a.m. -- 4 p.m.
Sunday: Closed

In order to better serve our out-of-town SSGHS members who wish to use the Library on a day or time when it is not scheduled to be open, we may be able to offer this service:
           Four hours of self-directed research time in the library and the services of a volunteer librarian.
To sign up:
           Send your request by U.S. mail (no phone calls or E-mail) at least a month in advance.  
           You will be sent a letter indicating whether or not a librarian will be available on the date requested.


2014
Jan. Tuesday, Jan. 14---Board Meeting 7 p.m.
No General Meeting in January
Monday, Jan. 20---Library Closed - MLK 
Feb. Tuesday, Feb. 4---Board Meeting 7 p.m.
Saturday, Feb. 8---General Meeting 10:00 a.m. - Program - "Swab Your Cheek" (DNA) with Marsha Peterson-Maass

Monday, Feb. 17---Library Closed - President's Day
Mar. Tuesday, Mar. 4---Board Meeting 7 p.m.
Saturday, Mar. 8---General Meeting 10:00 a.m. - Program - "Show & Tell
April Tuesday, April 8---Board Meeting 7 p.m.
Saturday, April 12---General Meeting 10:00 a.m. - Program - "Newspaper Necessities" with Tina Beaird
May Tuesday, April 29---Board Meeting 7 p.m.
Saturday, May 3---General Meeting 12:00 p.m. - Program - "SSGHS Birthday Luncheon"
June Tuesday, June 10---Board Meeting 7 p.m.
Saturday, June 14---General Meeting 10:00 a.m. - Program - "The 4 'Islands' in South Cook County" with Peg Kapustiak
July Tuesday, July 8---Board Meeting 7 p.m.
Saturday, July 12---General Meeting 10:00 a.m. 
Aug. Tuesday, August 5---Board Meeting 7 p.m.
Saturday, August 9---General Meeting 10:00 a.m. - Program - "Civilian Conservation Corps Newspapers" with Tim Pinnick
Sept. Tuesday, September 9---Board Meeting 7 p.m.
Saturday, September 13---General Meeting 10:00 a.m.
Oct. Tuesday, October 7---Board Meeting 7 p.m.
Saturday, October 11---General Meeting 10:00 a.m.
Nov. Tuesday, November 4--Board Meeting 7 p.m.
Saturday, November 8---General Meeting 10:00 a.m. - Program - "Will County's Participation in the Civil War" with Sandy Vasko



Copyright 20
14, South Suburban Genealogical and Historical Society
 3000 West 170th Place, Hazel Crest, IL.  60429 - 1174
Telephone: (708) 335-3340
E-mail to: info@ssghs.org

Last update 31 October 2014